Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Help me choose a wheelset
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

I'm seriously considering changing my wheelset due to a few reasons, mainly crap braking and tubular tires (I get a ridiculous amount punctures).
My current wheels are planet x 82/101 tubular (older version of this: http://www.planetx.co.uk/...rbon-82-101-wheelset) on a cervelo P3.

I'm now looking to change to something else, my budget is not great and the main requirements are aero and non carbon braking.
I was looking at the Fulcrum Racing Quattro which seems to be a decent choice but I'm not really an expert on wheels...

If anyone has any suggestions or recommendations that would be great.
Quote Reply
Re: Help me choose a wheelset [Vanhal] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Flo 60/90 combo. You'd even have enough left over to get a wheel cover if you choose. That set up would run you roughly $900 or so, but you'd have to sign up for their pre-order. If you're ok with the hassle, they're decent wheels at a nice price. And yes, aluminum brake track.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've ridden Enve and Reynolds a fair amount. Between the two, I was shocked at how poor the Enve rim's were in braking terms compared to the Reynolds, especially as going in I thought the Enve's would be awesome...

Reynolds' carbon rims have consistently good braking action and behave okay in the wet.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Re: Help me choose a wheelset [JerseyBigfoot] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
JerseyBigfoot wrote:
I've ridden Enve and Reynolds a fair amount. Between the two, I was shocked at how poor the Enve rim's were in braking terms compared to the Reynolds, especially as going in I thought the Enve's would be awesome...

Reynolds' carbon rims have consistently good braking action and behave okay in the wet.