Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Heart Rate question
Quote | Reply
I have been noticing when using my heart rate monitor that my heart rate with jump very high during the first few mins of running. Then it settles down and stays around what I see as normal. example:

On yesterdays run I did a 3.1mile run. a half mile into it my heart rate went up to 220bpm and then fell back to about 176bpm this took around 2mins from the start of the rise to the level off. I am fairly new at running and wondering if this is normal? Im 35 years old 6ft 1 and 200lbs.

This seems to have started after I recovered from chicken pox in March of this year.(start the jokes now I never had them as a kid:)
Quote Reply
Re: Heart Rate question [bigrthanur] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Test by making sure the HR strap is good and wet before starting out. I use 'personal lubricant' in Fall/Winter as it is pretty much the same thing as the gel they use for ultrasounds. Works like a charm. I have also noticed that certain shirt materials affect the accuracy of the monitor.
Last edited by: vibrolux: Sep 30, 14 6:36
Quote Reply
Re: Heart Rate question [vibrolux] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
hmm i will try to wet the strap next time.

I have read so many conflicting reports on what my max HR should be and have not made a determination. But I do know that my HR in yesterdays run was 175 and over. the average for the 5K was 176 and I was 180-190 the last mile. As far as running too fast Maybe too fast for my body? I am a slow runner and yesterdays 5K was 26:45 so not sure on that?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've only seen that when my battery is needing replaced or the electrode isn't wet enough.