Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Guru bikes
Quote | Reply
i'm a beginner triathlete on a tight budget and was wondering if you guys and gals had any suggestions for a tri specific bike. one bike that keeps popping up is the Cervelo One. the local bikeshop here just started carrying Guru bikes and the guy there says the Cron'alu is a great bike for the price. i have read many positive reviews of the cervelo but can't find any real reviews on any of the Guru bikes. any thoughts for a newbie?
Quote Reply
Re: Guru bikes [whineyass] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Easy answer (and no jokes guys): Buy the one that fits.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Is this the new Cervelo One or the older version? If it's the new version it's not truly a tri specific bike but might make a good choice for the newbie triathlete because it can be used for road and tri purposes since it's geometry is in between the two. If it's the older version, you might want to consider waiting for the new Cervelo Dual which should be in the shops shortly.

More important question - why do you want a tri specific bike? Are you an experienced cyclist? If not, conventional wisdom would suggest to first get a road bike because they are far more versatile and better handling than tri bikes. You can get a pair of shorty aero bars to use for tris but should join a roady group to learn the basic biking skills. That's my $.02.
Quote Reply
Re: Guru bikes [Tom Demerly] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply