Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Get me back in shape.
Quote | Reply
So a little about myself, I'm 24 and I was a runner for 11 years with some decent speed. I raced triathlon for 5 years during that and when I graduated college, took a job. At my job I sit down basically all day, and was drained when I got home. Now that the 50 hour+ weeks have died down, I'd like to get back into decent running shape.

There's only two problems with this, I've gained about 50 lbs from when I was racing at my best, and I haven't worked out with any intensity(although have done some sporadic work) in 2 years. The weight gain isn't necessarily entirely fat, but it also isn't desirable to run my best.

So now, I've been running for 3 weeks. I'm currently running about 5 days a week, 2 of them are 30 minutes easy, 2 of them are intervals such as 30 seconds fast and 2:30 jog for 30 minutes, and 1 is 5 minute warmup, 10 decent clip(zone 3) and 5 cool down.

I know I started somewhat ambitiously, but I also know where I used to be, and I'm cocky.

Can someone please offer me advice on a good plan to get back into shape enough to run about an hour for my long run, and compete in some 5k's? I don't think my diet needs to change much, I just think I need to get moving, and maybe lay off the all you can eat restaurants for a while.

I really appreciate your time and look forward to hearing what you have for me.
Quote Reply
Re: Get me back in shape. [Chris Athey] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Wow, seems the first focus is to get some weight off. Just think what your body is feeling like getting pounded with an extra 50 lbs on the frame.
Take is slow. Get in the pool. Get on a bike. Cross train. And stay away from the quantity of food.

Dave Campbell | Facebook | @DaveECampbell | h2ofun@h2ofun.net

Boom Nutrition code 19F4Y3 $5 off 24 pack box | Bionic Runner | PowerCranks | Velotron | Spruzzamist

Lions don't lose sleep worrying about the sheep
Quote Reply