Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Garmin Courses/Maps: first try today
Quote | Reply
I'm doing my first 100 running race in May and found someone who previously completed the race on Garmin Connect and uploaded the file into my Fenix 3 courses. I'm new to the watch and the course function for use as navigation, but if it works well it would be a great tool to aid me along with my navigation cue sheet since the course won't be marked.

The race is in another state the first time I will try out that particular course will be race day. So I created a 6.5 mile course around my house and tried that out today to see how the course function works/operates. It was a little glitchy but worked well for the most part. Only one part of the run showed me off course when I was actually on course but corrected itself once I made the next turn. I did some things like run backwards or leave the course intentionally to see how it would handle things and it seemed to work just fine once I got back on the prescribed path.

How has this function worked for any of you who've used it for longer distances? Is it better or worse in UltraTrac mode? Any experiences you can share would be appreciated.
Last edited by: SwiftRunner: Mar 4, 17 20:03
Quote Reply
Re: Garmin Courses/Maps: first try today [SwiftRunner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have used it to download long bike courses that others have load and it works about the same as you just described. It occasionally says off course when I am on course depends on the satellite connection.

http://www.toughmantri.com

https://robinsonsstrengthandendurancecoaching.wordpress.com/

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply