Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Garmin 910xt Elevation issue fixed
Quote | Reply
Hi,

I'm not technically savvy but for the past few months my 910xt has been having all the elevation issues like many are experiencing. My watch would start elevation at 20000m and then works it's way down to 0 then start again at 20000.

I had only been using it for running and bought a Garmin 800 for cycling as it pissed me off that much.

Anyway I'm back into full training and starting swimming again and using the watch in pool. All of a sudden the elevation is working again properly. I honestly believe it has something to do with it being fully underwater.

If you are having problems like me I suggest swimming with it and seeing if it fixes yours like it did mine.

Cheers
Quote Reply
Re: Garmin 910xt Elevation issue fixed [grubba] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Mine works fine. I haven't had any issues with it since Feb. However, I swim with it all the time too. Maybe I just got lucky.
Quote Reply
Re: Garmin 910xt Elevation issue fixed [siouxcityhawk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That's what I am saying , swimming with it could be the fix!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I don't know how that would fix the issue unless it had something to do with resetting the barometric altimeter. I for one get some pretty wierd readings from point to point when I do an out and back. Typically I will get a elevation deviation of 75 feet or more and the entire distance is messes up in elevation along the track.

FWIW gps elevation error should only be around 5 meters, and with these 910's being WAAS enabled, it should be less. I think the biggest culpriate is that elevation is gauged by pressure as a primary, and not by the GPS. Pressure is not stable though out the day, and while I am not 100% sure what the pressure is during a 2 hour workout, I am inclined to think that it is unstable enough to see big differences.