Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Fitbit Surge as a running watch?
Quote | Reply
My wife's Garmin died. She is a runner only and I am looking at non Garmin alternatives. I am very happy with my Suunto Ambit 2s so the Ambit 3 Run is making the short list. I have zero experience with fitbit. Is the Surge a good running watch?
Quote Reply
Re: Fitbit Surge as a running watch? [Trirunner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I heard it gives you mile times so probably but I wouldn't get it just principle alone
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
She had a Garmin, Black Friday is coming and Garmin is moving from 220 / 225 to 230 / 235, which means there will be tons of sales and she won't have to change platform and move workouts. Seems fairly straightforward to me.
Quote Reply
Re: Fitbit Surge as a running watch? [eggplantOG] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Which principle?
Quote Reply
Re: Fitbit Surge as a running watch? [lordhong] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I hear you. I used to be a Garmin user myself but they lost me with their policy of forced obsolescence. She is also not using Garmin Connect so logging workouts is not a factor.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm assuming she is not carrying over any accessories (HR strap, footpod) as her old Garmin would be ANT+ but Suunto would be BT, so I would suggest look at Polar products as well (M400).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Correct, no accessories.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
lordhong wrote:
I'm assuming she is not carrying over any accessories (HR strap, footpod) as her old Garmin would be ANT+ but Suunto would be BT, so I would suggest look at Polar products as well (M400).

I agree, polar make some very good running watches (I own a v800).