Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

First Race - Help!
Quote | Reply
Many of you who have helped/commented on my posts know I'm new to tri this season. My first race is this coming weekend and I'm stressing the most presently about what I might forget. What I need in transition that's not obvious. Anyone have common mistakes I should learn from in advance, helpful tips, items that are must haves but maybe not well known (i.e. sunscreen, chamois cream, etc)? Last minute advice?
Quote Reply
Re: First Race - Help! [cmd111183] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Depends where your race is being held. If it is in the NE and it is an open water swim, bring some crocs or flip flops to wear before you go in the water, wear a neoprene cap under your cap, don't wear booties, and try and get used to the cold water. Need more specific information about your race to be of better help to you.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I tend to forget my race belt. Relax, you'll be fine. Here's my checklist:

-transition mat (if it's allowed, or use a towel)
-helmet
-sunglasses
-allen keys (incase I have to make any last minute bike adjustments)
-bike pump (which I take out of transition and put in the car once I check my tire pressure)
-flat kit (tube and co2)
-cycling shoes
-running shoes
-race belt (for your number, generally you put this on when you go out on the run)
-timing chip (given to you at race registration)
-vaseline
-sunscreen
-nutrition (usually just gatorade for me, everyone is different here)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Last minute advice?......relax and have a good time!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
For me the easiest things to forget are my helmet and bike shoes. I headed to Crit last week without my helmet. Luckily I remembered a few minutes from the house and sped back to get it in time. It certainly doesn't hurt to make a checklist and cross things off once they are packed.

"4 wheels move the body, 2 wheels move the soul"
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply