Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

First Olympic bike questions
Quote | Reply
I'm a runner. I did my first sprint 2 weeks ago. I placed third in newcomers division. I did well on the run but sucked on the bike and the first open water swim freaked me out a bit.

When I started training for this olympic I made the mistake of focusing on the run more than the other disciplines. Can you tell I like running?

I have about 4 weeks left to train and I've cut my run running from 40 miles/week down to 25/week. I've increased time on the bike and the pool.

I was on the bike 3 times this week: 90 min ride on trainer, 40 mile ride outside, 45 minutes on trainer.

I averaged 18 mph in the sprint and want to get faster for the olympic coming up. What can I do in the next 4 weeks to get faster? Just ride more? More intervals? More on trainer? Add clip on aero bars? Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: First Olympic bike questions [Squeaky Dan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Squeaky Dan wrote:
What can I do in the next 4 weeks to get faster? Just ride more? YES - lots more More intervals? YES - lots more More on trainer? YES - lots more
Quote Reply
Re: First Olympic bike questions [B.McMaster] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Clip on aero bars worth getting? Do I have time to get used to them.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
They (clip on's) can't hurt, unless your Independent bike-fit &/or bike geometry sucks. Best u go down to LBS and ask them their opinion of aerobars and would they "throw ya a freebie" by just putting you in decent aero position, should u buy said clip-on's/aerobars from them. (they're not cheap, "retail" wise)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Yes, get some clipon aero bars. Get something like the Profile T1+ bars; they are super-adjustable (important since you will probably dial in your position over time).

Biking more will help. A lot of bike training is like fartlek, a moderate ride with hard efforts (often a climb) interspersed during the ride.