Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Felt B14 Aero Help
Quote | Reply
I'm fairly new to triathlon and looking to kick it up a notch this season. I bought this as my first triathlon bike in the late fall of 2015 and this past season I decided to focus on running and finished my first 50 miler.

2017 will be all triathlon and I put some money into my intro 2015 B14.

New carbon cockpit
Stages crankarm power meter
New seat
Flo disk and 60 front wheels

I know this isn't the stiffest frame or most aero... Anything else you would recommend outside of getting a new frame?

I was thinking about a Tririg Omega X front brake. Any used ones floating around?

Any recommendations would be great.

Mission Kona Podcast
https://www.strava.com/athletes/2568182
Kona 2024 Qualifier
Quote Reply
Re: Felt B14 Aero Help [PayneM85] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You pretty much nailed the list. I would buy a power meter today, since it will immediately make your training more effective.

After that, brakes next, then wheels. After brakes and wheels, cockpit. The Bayonet 3 is pretty good.

Only do the seat if your old one is a problem for you. If it is, buy that before the PM.

Also, the FSA Omega is a total piece of crap. It has a lot of lateral flex. I would replace that too. You can shave a 1/2 pound of weight, gain stiffness, and get some minor aero gains.
Quote Reply
Re: Felt B14 Aero Help [exxxviii] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Sorry I needed to be more clear.

I've already upgraded to a profile design SVET carbon base and carbon extensions. And upgraded to the FSA 386 carbon crank and stages power meter. I changed the seat as well to an ISM PS 1.1. lastly I got a set of race wheels disk and 60 flos all carbon.

How bad is the frame? Would it make a big difference to switch to something like the IA 10, Shiv?

Mission Kona Podcast
https://www.strava.com/athletes/2568182
Kona 2024 Qualifier
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply