Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Explain the fist drill to me
Quote | Reply
So since I couldn't really breathe today (thanks to Tahoe smoke inhalation) I was noodling around with some swim drills at the pool, and tried the fist drill, which I've never done before. Did it with the pull buoy first just to try it out and without the buoy second. Can someone describe to me what I should be feeling in this drill? I didn't really notice much difference between my regular swimming and it other than I had to turn my strokes over a bit faster. I did watch a few youtube videos and I think I was doing what was described, but I guess I thought it would feel different.
Quote Reply
Re: Explain the fist drill to me [Erin C.] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The point of the fist drill is to learn to use the flat sides of your forearms as paddles and improve your catch.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I am the opposite of a fish, but we did these in swim lessons. You should feel your stokes pulling you a lot less far, so you need a lot more strokes to cross the pool. The idea is to teach your arm to be more vertical I think, so your forearm still pulls you.

If you normally need 18 strokes to cross the pool.. I think fist drill with good form = 22 or 24 strokes to cross ,vs bad form would be 30 strokes.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Well, when a man and a woman (or a man and a man, or a woman and a woman) love each other very much, and they've had quite a bit of tequila...

Oh, sorry - wrong fist drill.

You try to swim as normal, only with a closed fist instead of an open hand.
Concentrate on feeling your forearm as a "paddle".

Then, when you open your hand, you should be able to feel yourself grabbing and holding more water.

Thus ends ML's swim tips for this decade.

float , hammer , and jog

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply