Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Elliptical Trnr vs Running
Quote | Reply
Quick Background:
I had knee surgery (lateral release due to malalignment of the patella) last February, eased back into running in July, coached Cross Country for our high school team (during which time I ran with the kids), and now my knee is hurting again.
Question:
I do not want this to keep me from doing triathlons, so I want to know the about the possibility of using an elliptical trainer for about 95% of my run workouts. Is this possible? How well will an ET prepare me to run the 13.1 miles for half-IM's this year? What does one lack by using the ET instead of running? Could it be made up for somewhere else? Basically, how effective are elliptical trainers?

[b]Thank you for any help and replies.[/b]
Zach
Quote Reply
Re: Elliptical Trnr vs Running [senorespanol] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am a bit reluctant to offer my advice since I am not a medical professional, coach, personal trainer, elite athlete, etc. I also don't know how much information you already have, so forgive me if my response rehashes over how much you already know. I am just a slightly above average triathlete who has experienced my fair share of injuries in the past few years.