Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Dealing with your first race being cancelled.
Quote | Reply
I've been training for 6 months with the intent to do a 70.3 later this year. Race this weekend was just a sprint. It wasn't like some special accomplishment to complete it or anything. But it was the first time I actually got to do a full triathlon. I've done the bike rides, done the road races, etc.. I was looking forward to everything together. I had goals laid out from the beginning that were quite lofty for me and I really felt like I had a chance to meet them tomorrow. I've come a long way and was really excited to test myself. I'm setting out my transition stuff on a towel this afternoon, checking off to make sure I have everything and get the email that the race is officially cancelled due to weather. Such a let down.

I've got a few races I'm thinking of doing, but the next one I'm actually scheduled for isn't for a few months. I'm just so frustrated right now.

How do you guys deal with these type of things when it's your "A" race. I think I'm taking a day or two off and having a few drinks tonight.
Quote Reply
Re: Dealing with your first race being cancelled. [KG6] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This is all part of our sport. Things happen and you need to be ready for plan B.

I never try to have an A race for the reasons you are feeling now. I just race a lot. Last season when I got hurt I had to miss my "big" races. Luckily I had raced enough
already in the season that my main goal of being an AA again was not impacted.

Taking the same approach this season. Trying to race as many races early that I need for my goals so if I cannot race for whatever reason, I am set.

I guess I am lucky that I can just about race every weekend within driving distance for most of the year.

I have 3 races coming up in a 2 week period. Will see how the body deals with this attempt.