Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Cyclocross Race a month+ before 70.3
Quote | Reply
Just looking for some thoughts:

I am headed to Austin in the end of October for the 70.3. Cyclocross is fairly big in my area and the races/clinics have started over the past few weeks.

I was thinking about signing up and doing a few, over the next three weeks, to switch up my bike training. I have never done a CX race before. Is this dumb, should I just wait until after Austin?

Thanks

Harry Mendez Jr.

Quote Reply
Re: Cyclocross Race a month+ before 70.3 [durh221982] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It's an hour-long race over a month before your 70.3 you'll be fine.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If you're talking "switching up bike training", be aware that the demands of CX are much different that 'steady-state' tri-bike training. CX is all about extreme power surges, sprinting out of corners, etc. While a single event shouldn't affect your 70.3, that CX training along the way might. Just be sure not to forget your priorities.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Like another poster said, just doing the race(s) would be okay, but if you start training for them you'll be "dumb". CX training favors more anaerobic development and you mostly want aerobic leading into a race as long as 70.3. 1-2 races aren't going to hurt, but deciding you want to race and train for CX as your bike training is a mistake.

How's your bike handling? Do you think your skills and seriousness level make you think that crashing/injury is a low probability (not any greater that road training).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
the biggest risk will be having a blast and signing up for more races and forgetting completely about the 70.3
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I did a CX race one week out from the 70.3 WC a few years ago and had the race of my life at the WC. CX is one hour, all out and you should recover quickly. Just make sure your bike handling is up to scratch as CX can be pretty brutal.