Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Critique my swim routine
Quote | Reply
I've been doing triathlons for 3 years now, predominantly short course with the odd 70.3. My annual swim program is wait until 6 weeks out from first race then swim 3 days a week for the duration of the season (4 months), then stop over winter.
Each swim session is usually 45-60 minutes, consisting of usually 1000m time trial (warmup), 800-1200 meters of 100m efforts, then cool down with 500-800m using fins. I sometimes throw in some laps with feet banded together.
I usually see myself go from 2:00/100m to 1:40/100m (50m pool times) during the course of the season.

Is there anything different I could be doing regarding the structure of this workout that would see my times improve further.
I don't want to do any elaborate long winded drills with swim toys, just freestyle. This is the most time I can commit to swimming.

Thanks in advance
Quote Reply
Re: Critique my swim routine [Dangs] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Your biggest bang for the buck will be to swim more than a 4 month season. You are starting from scratch each year.

You might be ok with that. Your call.

If you don't want to do that, then some pointers but they aren't going to get you a whole lot. Consistency is the #1,2 and 3 it on the list of how to get better.

your warmdown is excessively long, 200 or 250 is plenty, and depending on my mood I skip it altogether. Make the main set longer with recovery swims built into the main set, where appropriate.

A time trial is not a warmup. Warmup is warmup, a TT s only nice you are well warmed up and it hurts like a mf'er. You aren't doing a good quality practice after a time trial.

I can't give you more than that without knowing specifics.

Swimming Workout of the Day:

Favourite Swim Sets:

2020 National Masters Champion - M50-54 - 50m Butterfly
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Dangs wrote: