Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Cost of installing a powetap hub to an existing wheel.
Quote | Reply
Hi all, I am getting ready to purchase a power tap rear hub . I am wondering ( ball park Figure) What would be a reasonable cost for most bike shops to remove the existing hub on my flo wheel and replace it with the powertap hub.
Thanks in advance as I am new to power meters.
Quote Reply
Re: Cost of installing a powetap hub to an existing wheel. [Bubblehead] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Unless you have a Flo 30 rim, I don't think a PT b is compatible.

But as for the cost, it will depend on the shop, but IIRC from when I had my done, it was $100 or less (including spokes).

Chicago Cubs - 2016 WORLD SERIES Champions!!!!

"If ever the time should come, when vain and aspiring men shall possess the highest seats in government, our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots to prevent its ruin." - Samuel Adams
Quote Reply
Re: Cost of installing a powetap hub to an existing wheel. [Power13] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yes they are FLO 30s. Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Cost of installing a powetap hub to an existing wheel. [Bubblehead] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I think my LBS told me $30 plus whatever the spokes cost.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
mine was about $30 plus the cost of the spokes - but sapim spokes add up to a decent addition (it was my race wheel)

looking back I could have sold my wheel (a Jet60) and bought something similar (used) with an equivalent PT and been a lot less out of pocket than adding the PT to a nice wheel I already owned.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The hub flange on the PT is higher than the Flo hub so your existing spokes can probably be cut and retreaded to work. I put a PT in my Flo 60 and my local shop charged 40$, cut my spokes, and they worked fine. The hard part will be finding a shop with a spoke cutter.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply