Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Compact Frames - I call bullsh*t...
Quote | Reply
"I call bullsh*t" is my new favourite phrase so I'm gonna use it....

This question is purely ainmed at fitting, not ride characteristics etc - Ive seen it posted many times that bike manufacturers claim they can fit the same amount of people with a reduced number of sizes in a compact framed bike, presumeably because of the sloping top tube. How teh hell does that work??!

My feeble mind says how a frame fits is based on the position of the headset, bottom bracket and saddle, in relation to each other in terms of distance and angle. So surely a limited number of frame sizes in a "traditional" frame will fit people just as well/equally as badly as a limited number of frame sizes in a compact style - right?

Im no expert on bike fit (Im too ashamed to post a pic of my aero position here!! I look like a bag of spanners :-) ), so Im more than willing to be proved wrong by minds greater than my own!

PS - I know/train/race with Bobby who posts here, and Im getting abit concerned about all his questions about farting and p*ssing in the pool....

"You're so money Mikey, and you don't even know it..."
Quote Reply
Re: Compact Frames - I call bullsh*t... [Mattyd] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I think you're correct. What matters for a bike position is wheel position, bar (hedset), crank and seat. Compact frames have production advantages.

On a traditional frame where only 4-5" of the seatpost is visible, the estethics of the bike is spoiled if the seatpost is just a bit too long or short. While on a compact frame with 10" visible seatpost, a few inches don't make any estethic difference.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply