Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Changing to shorter cranks
Quote | Reply
Just about to start building a Cervelo P3C for next season and debating whether to go to shorter cranks.

Principal use will be for long distance triathlon: currently running 175mm cranks but was thinking of changing to 165mm.

FTP around 270, weight 76kg, height 1.86 and looking to complete my 4th IM next year so not a complete novice to this. I'm more of a spinner than grinder, typical cadence around 87-90.

For those who have changed what are the pros/cons and anything to consider?
Quote Reply
Re: Changing to shorter cranks [moonmonkey02] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I switched last season and couldn't be happier. I went from 172.5mm to 165mm. Had to raise my saddle a bit to compensate. The new position seems more natural to me.

-------------------
Madison photographer Timothy Hughes | Instagram
Quote Reply
Re: Changing to shorter cranks [Timtek] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Timtek wrote:
I switched last season and couldn't be happier. I went from 172.5mm to 165mm. Had to raise my saddle a bit to compensate. The new position seems more natural to me.

I just made the same change a few weeks ago. I wasn't sure if I'd like it or not so I bought a $70 165mm Tiagra crank off ebay and have probably put about 20 - 25 hours of riding on it so far on Trainer Road. All I can say so far is that it doesn't seem to have hurt anything. Whether or not it makes me run better off the bike remains to be seen, but figure it at least can't hurt their either.
Quote Reply
Re: Changing to shorter cranks [SBRcoffee] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply