Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Post deleted by Pooks
Re: Chains!! [Pooks] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
My .02- Stick to Shimano Dura-Ace chains and install them correctly and keep them clean. Discussing chains is like discussing politics and religion from my experience.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm no expert, nor do I have any experience with the Wippermann Connex SS (stainless steel) chain, but have read good comments about them here last year. I'm currently building a cyclocross bike with Shimano drivetrain and am considering the Wippermann due to it's rust-free stainless steel alloy construction, easy-to-use Connex link (similar to Sachs PowerLink, I think, which I've used and like) and 107-year-old German engineering pedigree. both the 9-speed and 10-speed versions are currently on sale at performancebike.com for $40 or less. Check out Dan's(?) review of it at http://www.slowtwitch.com/...nents/wipperman.html or check out the Wippermann site at http://www.connexchain.com/

Sean
Quote Reply
Re: Chains!! [haystack] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
the last time I needed to replace the chain on my bikes also coincided with a sale on Wipperman chains at Supergo. I often run into one of the mechanics from Supergo at my morning coffee stop and I asked him his opinion about it (he is an Expert ATB racer). He told me not to waste my money, buy a Dura Ace chain, keep it clean and replace it when it is stretched. That was what I had been doing for the past 20 years, so I stuck with that.

Mike Plumb, TriPower MultiSports
Professional Running, Cycling and Multisport Coaching, F.I.S.T. Certified
http://www.tripower.org
Quote Reply
Re: Chains!! [Mike Plumb] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply