Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Can I use a 7mi race to determine HR zones (run)
Quote | Reply
I am messing with HR training for running only as I am focused on a late Fall 26.2, I did the Falmouth RR a couple weeks ago which was 7mi and I wore a HR monitor. Is this a good distance to determine max HR from? too long?

"Base training is bull shit" - desertdude
Quote Reply
Re: Can I use a 7mi race to determine HR zones (run) [thirstygreek] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm no expert, but when I was learning about heart rate training, one of the books told me to do hill repeats after a good warm up run to determine the maximum heart rate and to set the other zones as a percentage of maximum.

That book was Something like, Heart Rate Training for the Complete Idiot by John Parker

Sharon McN
@IronCharo
#TeamZoot
Clif Bar Pace Team 2003-2018
Quote Reply
Re: Can I use a 7mi race to determine HR zones (run) [thirstygreek] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
thirstygreek wrote:
I am messing with HR training for running only as I am focused on a late Fall 26.2, I did the Falmouth RR a couple weeks ago which was 7mi and I wore a HR monitor. Is this a good distance to determine max HR from? too long?

Forget max HR to calculate zones, do a 15-min protocol to find Threshold Heart Rate and calculate from that... Google Joe Friel
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
One of the tests one can do is a 30 Min Steady State run - warm up well then run at your best speed one can do for the full 30 mins -pacing is important - and then take that average HR and work zones out from that.

if you do this on a track - useful to record the distance as well - for measurement purposes as you progress.

Hope this helps

Graham Wilson
USAT Level III Elite Coach
http://www.thewilsongroup.biz
Quote Reply
Re: Can I use a 7mi race to determine HR zones (run) [feman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks guys!

"Base training is bull shit" - desertdude
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply