Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Buying a used power meter
Quote | Reply
Hi STers,

Looking at buying a power meter now that I've been riding for a few months. With a modest budget and an entry-level aluminum bike (that I only paid $300 for!) I don't want to spend very much on a power meter. I'm looking at either a left-side Stages or 4iiii for under $300.

Anyone have any bad experience buying a used power meter?
Quote Reply
Re: Buying a used power meter [Dill-Ag13] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've bought used Powertaps and SRMs and have always had good results. For $300 I would get a Powertap or two-sided crank based meter rather than a Stages. Keep an eye on the classifieds here as well as ebay and Pinkbike.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Powertap hubs are pretty bullet proof. They work or they don't.

I would search Craig's list as well and try to find one local. This way you can test it out before you buy.
Quote Reply
Re: Buying a used power meter [gregf83] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I just bought a used Powertap Pro +, on a Mavic CXP rear wheel (including cassette and gatorskin tire) for $150 (including shipping). For what I'm using it for (trainer workouts), it works great. At some point, I can send it in and get it upgraded to a newer GS for something like $350.

Pretty good experience, IMO.
Last edited by: d00d: Jun 20, 17 7:19
Quote Reply
Re: Buying a used power meter [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've spent a bunch of time over the past month chasing after power (meters). Priorities:
1) Use it on tri bike on trainer.
2) Use it on road bike for rides with the local Roadies.
3) Use it on tri bike in races.

I chased after a lot of ways to skin this cat. Any solution needed to do ANT+. My stationary trainer already does power, but that didn't help me any with 2) and 3).