Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Buying a TRI bike
Quote | Reply
Is there a web site that succinctly defines the differences/benefits between the different brands of bikes , compostions(alum vs carbon vs titanium vs ?), build kits, wheels, etc? I am a newbie, with 1 Tri under my belt that I did on a very old Takara road bike and now want to invest in a entry level ($3000 - $4000?) TRI bike. But my head is about to explode going back and forth between mfg websites without really getting anything more than their advertisements regarding their products.
Quote Reply
Re: Buying a TRI bike [rphilli] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
this website is one of the best recources out there. You should also be able to get good info from your LBS (Local Bike Shop) as well. If they are doing their job they should educate you FIRST on the fit of the bike, and then give you options on what will fit you properly. Not everyone is built the same, so you may LOVE a certain bike but if it doesn't fit, you really shouldn't buy it. 3-4k will get you a really nice rig. Good luck.

Ladera Cyclery...Gone but not forgotten..
F.I.S.T. Certified, UBI Trained Mechanic
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I would check out bikesportmichigan.com for his review between tri and road bikes.

Slowtwitch has an article on it but it is pretty complicated, I would suggest starting with bikesport michigan first, but it isn't working just this sec.

berndog
How did we all get sucked into this crazy sport anyway?!!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
where do you live? i dont know of any sites like that (though im sure they exist) but i think a huge benefit would be calling/going to a local bike or tri shop. an entry level tri bike (like a felt s32) retails for $1400 though, and right now with the sales going on with shops trying to get rid of the 06's before next seasons bikes come in...you can get huge savings. you can get a really nice, far from entry-level tri bike for 3-4 thousand.