Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Blood thinner and cycling protection
Quote | Reply
I recently started taking blood thinners due to a recent heart issue. I do a lot of trail/mountain bikeing and road cycling. My concern is chest or back impact from a fall or taking the bars to the chest and the possibility of internal bleeding. I am thinking about ordering chest/back protection for everyday riding, does anyone else ride with this type of protection and if so what brand do you use and do you like it? Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Blood thinner and cycling protection [Tryin Harder] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You should probably be more concerned about head blows causing internal bleeding rather than chest injuries (although those should still be a concern).

I have been riding on blood thinners since 2009....but avoid MTB riding now. (Not a huge sacrifice since the is very little MTB riding around Chicago). Dunno if a chest / back protector is gonna help that much vs. the discomfort of wearing it. That is a personal call, I guess.

As far as road riding, I simply accept the increased risk...used to avoid group rides, but have gotten past that now. At some point I just decided I was gonna live my life and accept the consequences. I do tend to be a bit more cautious on group rides that I am unfamiliar with or seem squirrelly. In those situations, I'll either ride at the back or just drop out altogether.

I also no longer road race and use triathlons as my competitive outlet....

Chicago Cubs - 2016 WORLD SERIES Champions!!!!

"If ever the time should come, when vain and aspiring men shall possess the highest seats in government, our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots to prevent its ruin." - Samuel Adams
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply