Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bikepacking Colorado Trail
Quote | Reply
Anyone done it? I hiked the first segment last weekend and saw a handful of guys on MTBs. I will have 4 weeks off and I am debating whether to do something along the lines of this or really focusing on a May 70.3.

I've never ridden a mountain bike and I've never camped. I've been racing triathlons for 5 years and consider myself a FOP AGer on the bike.

Awesome or good way to end my life?

@floathammerholdon | @partners_in_tri
Quote Reply
Re: Bikepacking Colorado Trail [cloy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
May might be a little early for bikepacking. U hike the Durango or Waterton start. I would think bikepacking it would be very hard if u have never mountain biked or camped. Heck, even if u were used to both.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Hiked some of it. Be aware that you can't bike the wilderness areas, so you'll need detour routes.

I don't think it's really an appropriate first choice of routes if you've never mountain-bike before. I'm not talking about fitness. Just about the hundreds of little skills, like how to fix things on a mountain bike when they break. Bunny-hopping over big rocks, etc.

I'd do something shorter and easier first to build that skill set. Don't extrapolate from that first segment you did through the whole thing. Once you get up in the San Juan mountains shit gets real. Very unimproved (no real trail at times). Very unforgiving if you get in trouble.
Quote Reply
Re: Bikepacking Colorado Trail [trail] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Late June is probably the earliest I'd consider going because of snow.