Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike Transport Recommendation
Quote | Reply
I am flying to Cozumel for the late November Ironman. This is my first event where I will need to bring my bike. I know Tri Bike Transport is available, but it is pricey (I think around $450). Here is the dilemma: should I buy a travel case and pay the airline fees, or just pay Transport? Clearly, this depends in part on how many other times I will use the case. Assume I will do so multiple times.

Is it simple to reconnect the handlebars, seat, petals, etc.? Will I need to pay a mechanic to do all of this for me in Cozumel? Does the disassembly involved in using a bike case screw up the gears and brakes. I have aero bars.

I apologize for the remedial questions. I am pretty new to cycling and bike mechanics.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike Transport Recommendation [Poon] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Depending on where you're flying from, and depending on the airline, it's pretty common to pay $100 to $150 each way to fly your bike. So there's $200 to $300 right there. And watch out if you have a broken flight leg and change airlines along the way, because the fees start all over again. And the cost of the case, too. And it can be a hassle to roll your bike box and suitcase and carry-on bag from the parking lot to the terminal while trying to help your travel partner juggle their luggage. And going through TSA and watching them open your carefully-packed bike, only to force the lid back on when they didn't repack it correctly. And your rental car at the other end will need to accommodate the bike box.

I travel with my bike a lot, but if TBT is available, it can be a great option. Frequently, they'll assemble (if need be) and check out your bike prior to the event. After the event, you just drop off the bike and forget about it. That can (and does) make for a great value in a lot of circumstances.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply