Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Best Training Wheels
Quote | Reply
I've been biking for a couple of years now and I'm currently riding a 2012 Specialized Roubaix I bought slightly used two years ago.
Anyways, I cannot find or navigate my way around this sight so I apologize if this topic has been repeated over and over again.
First, I am wanting to know when it is time to upgrade training wheels? Is it after x amount miles? If I need a wheel change(which I'm thinking since these DT Swiss are original) I am unsure what is the best. I've google this topic and it looks like it Mavic, Shimano and DT Swiss. Which would you recommend and why? I see a lot of mixed reviews.
Thank you for your help.
Quote Reply
Re: Best Training Wheels [runfasterplz] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I wouldn't bother changing wheels unless there's something wrong with them or something specific you want that they can't provide. If the brake tracks are excessively worn, then the wheels need to be replaced for safety. The brake track eventually wears down so that the walls of the rim become thin and are weakened. Many aluminium rim wheels will have some sort of indicator built in so that you can tell when the wear reaches this stage. For example, some have a groove machined into the rim and when that disappears it means the wear limit has been reached. I've been riding a lot since 2011 and I've never reached that point on any of my wheels. But I've spread my riding across 3 bikes (2xroad, 1xtri) and 4 sets of wheels in that time and most of my routes don't require a lot of heavy braking. If you're in an urban area and/or you've ridden big mileage you could reach that point much quicker.

I'd stick with alloy rims. If you want to use them for racing too, you can consider a set with carbon fairings like HED Jet Plus, Flos or Swiss Sides. I see no real benefit in full carbon rims. It's a fashion thing.