Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

BarryP and 70.3 training
Quote | Reply
I've been doing BarryP for about 3 years now. My half marathon is probably 1:30 to 1:32 and according to McMillan, my easy pace should be 7:32-8:33...

For the past 3 years I've been in phase1 and run 6 times a week all easy runs: short run is 4 mi, medium run is 7 mi, long run is 12 mi.. I've been very conservative with putting in quality runs and bricks because I've had an issue with overtraining in the past. But for 2016 season, I want to incorporate phase 2 and phase 3 of the plan .. I do two 70.3's a year and one full a year. A few questions:

1.) I'm thinking of doing 4/8/12 as my run mi's but is 40 mpw too much? I may lower it to 3.5/7/10.5 which brings my mileage down to 35 per week.

2.) For phase 2, it says swap a medium run for a threshold run and subtract about 1-2 miles. So my medium run should be 5-6 mi at about 6:43-6:59 pace?

3.) For phase 3, do I swap out the medium run for a brick run? How long should the brick run be and how fast?

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: BarryP and 70.3 training [125mph] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

1.) I'm thinking of doing 4/8/12 as my run mi's but is 40 mpw too much? I may lower it to 3.5/7/10.5 which brings my mileage down to 35 per week. I don't think you'd see much difference in the results between 35 and 40 mpw, if you're spending that extra time doing quality swimming or biking. You might not have that final 5-10% of your peak run fitness, but it's a tricky balance between getting the time on the run or someplace else.

2.) For phase 2, it says swap a medium run for a threshold run and subtract about 1-2 miles. So my medium run should be 5-6 mi at about 6:43-6:59 pace? You might end up having to drop from 6 to 5 runs per week, in which case I would want to up the pace on at least one run.