Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: April Fish! Swim Challenge [tigerchik] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I had an interesting set this morning. I was tired of 25x100 type stuff so I asked my coach to change it up. I've been sick of late and apparently have no lung capacity. After an 800m warmup he had me do

4x200
1st 50 - breathe every 5th stroke
2nd 50 - every 4th
3rd - every 3rd
4th - every other

I also had windsprints

8x50
1st 25 - Sprint without breathing (never made it, though my pace dropped to 1:19/100 from my normal 1:38...can you tell I lift my head and sink my legs to breathe?!)
2nd 25 - easy swim

Overall I had a lot of fun, even though I suck at breathing. You'd think I'd be better at something I had been practicing for 38 years!
Quote Reply
Re: April Fish! Swim Challenge [JasoninHalifax] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
8.5 mi run w/ 1+ mi @ 8:00, 2+ mi @ 7:53, and just shy of 4 mi @ 7:41
600 yd swim. Today's excuse: hips fine, but developed a muscle knot in my back during the run.

maybe she's born with it, maybe it's chlorine
If you're injured and need some sympathy, PM me and I'm very happy to write back.
disclaimer: PhD not MD
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I am "out" in terms of getting to the full half Ironman "distance" swim of IM (10x200IM non stop) this month. I had a cortisone injection in my L5-S1 epidural cavity to try to get me over a hump in terms of the nerves feeding my lower leg. Doc asked me to not do much until Sunday and easy back in.....2000m of IM on Sunday would not count as "easing back in" so I have to save this for May!
Quote Reply
Re: April Fish! Swim Challenge [devashish_paul] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
7.6 mi 60:03
700 yd swim (that's what I had time for!)

If you're injured and need some sympathy, PM me and I'm very happy to write back.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply