Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Any tips for racing in the rain?
Quote | Reply
I'm in Seattle/Tacoma area on business and I found a small triathlon to race this weekend. Unfortunately it looks like 100% chance of rain and since I'm from Texas, I have no experience with racing in the rain.

I've ridden through drizzle and ran in the rain, but I've never "raced". Any tips?

Change tires?
Reduce air pressure?
Put socks in ziploc bag?

Thanks,

CJ
Quote Reply
Re: Any tips for racing in the rain? [CJ_Dungan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Reduce air pressure- take zero chances in corners or on bridges.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
enjoy the swim and then pack up.

Such a Bad Runner
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Take extra care on any metal and any paint on the road during the bike. That just means avoid it if possible and otherwise avoid speed and directional changes.
With good socks they will be fine if they get wet, but dry ones will go on faster.
If it's chilly put toe covers on your bike shoes and wait to put your socks on at T2.

"When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro."
Hunter S. Thompson
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
What race? Know the bike course.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
  • Spare socks in T2
  • Hide your gear under your towel or something else to stop the rain from getting your equipment
  • Sunglasses = fog
Quote Reply
Re: Any tips for racing in the rain? [JTolandTRI] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Deuces Wild Triathlon at Lewis McChord Joint Base.

I'll see if I can preview the course.

Would anyone waste time putting on a rain jacket in T1?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Everything has to be smoother and slower - turns, accelerating, braking. Even if it is not raining, newly wet roads can be just as slick after the rain. Just be patient and use it as a learning experience so that when it happens in a bigger race you are prepared. Have fun.

I miss you "Sports Night"
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply