Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Advice on improving freestyle catch
Quote | Reply
I've watched a ton of youtube videos on the high-elbow catch and I'm trying to employ it. I'm having two specific problems. First, the early internal shoulder rotation kind of aggravates my rotator cuff. Second, it demands quite a lot of shoulder flexibility, and I don't appear to possess that. Any advice or techniques would be appreciated. Thanks!

---------------------------------------------------------------

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/profile/domingjm
Quote Reply
Re: Advice on improving freestyle catch [domingjm] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Have you tried fins? It will give you propulsion while you focus/explore your stroke mechanics.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm no expert but...

You don't want to stress that shoulder so be careful.

Be sure you are swimming with fluid power and form. In other words, be sure you are swimming such that the arms are not being over taxed, likewise your legs should not be overtaxed, nor the body core. Then, start rolling your hand "over the barrel" as you extend it forward. You won't get the elbow height of a 20 year old elite level swimmer, but you are never going to get this anyway so trying and stressing your joints will all end in vain. An elbow can still be high even if it's not as high and perfect as Sun Yang's (or whatever his name is). Your shoulder needs to feel comfortable. A little more body roll can produce a higher elbow too.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply