Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Advice from fishies - training technique over fitness - how long?
Quote | Reply
Fishies,

Terribly slow swimmer here - 50yr old female - swimming for about 2 1/2 years mostly self taught. Spent the last 16months in Masters swim 3x/wk and did not improve much at all. So have officially ditched that out of major frustration and have started working with a coach 1x/week on technique only. Have major technique flaws (no surprise there) but at least now I have something to focus on for improvement.

Reading the threads here on ST - it is pretty clear that swimming well is "100% fitness & 100% technique" (forget who said that). The question I have is as I try to relearn how to swim, how much time should I devote to technique over endurance?

For now, as I try to master technique (rotation, timing of breath finish stroke, kick, timing of kick), should I just do 25s and focus on one aspect of swim at a time to ingrain good habits?

Right now, when I swim longer than 50, I find myself right back where I started and I really want to get away from all the bad habits that have become ingrained over the past 16months of just swimming lots with bad form but am worried about losing fitness.

So my Q - if my long term goal is to get this swimming thing down, should I just swim 25s for the next few months? When should I start doing longer swims? I do plan to get in the water 4-5x/week for 30-60min a session. Long term goal - Olympic/half distance - but will probably stick to sprints this summer - maybe one Olympic if I can get some confidence in my swimming.

I am a FOP athlete in my age group at local sprints - thanks to big improvements on the run (am a cyclist) - but I come out of the water in a panic and in almost last place and then play catchup the rest of the race so I really want to get this swimming thing down!

Thanks for your help fishies!
Quote Reply