Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

70.3 training. High intensity or volume.
Quote | Reply
I'm trying to decide on what plan to use for my September 70.3. In the past for shorter races I've used programs very similar to the Chris Carmichael plans with a lot of high intensity training. However for 70.3 I don't know if this is the best thing for me. As I've said on here in the past I am a UPS driver and walk between 11 + 15 miles a day just at work. Not to mention the equivalent of doing hundreds of squats and lifting a lot of packages and a lot of flights of stairs. My legs are constantly fatigued and juggling the training needed for longer races is becoming more difficult. Trying to manage my fatigue levels makes me wonder if I can follow previous plan or do I have to break down and get a coach???
Quote Reply
Re: 70.3 training. High intensity or volume. [Fishbum] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The answer is still volume, and alot of recovery. At lower intensity, you'll possibly even recover a bit from the pounding from the work. Overall, it doesn't sound like you're enjoying the combo of high intensity with your work's physical requirements, so why not try a different approach?
You might possibly get away with slightly less running since you're hitting 60+ mpw walking, but I wouldn't be certain of that. The extra strength from lifting probably doesn't translate much, but your general fitness is probably at a pretty good baseline, I'd imagine.
Why do you need a coach to alter/write your plan?

G'luck -J

----------------------------------------------------------------
Life is tough. But it's tougher when you're stupid. -John Wayne
Quote Reply
Re: 70.3 training. High intensity or volume. [karlaj] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
karlaj wrote:
The answer is still volume, and alot of recovery.

Seems paradoxical.
Quote Reply
Re: 70.3 training. High intensity or volume. [karlaj] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
karlaj wrote: