Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

70.3 timing for a two IM season
Quote | Reply
I'm signed up for Ironman CDA on June 28th and then Ironman Wisconsin Sept. 13th. I know I want to do a solid 70.3 effort somewhere during the season but am not quite sure where to target that race. Would you guys be gunning for a race before the two IM's or can I shoot for a good effort in between? As a side note, I'm a teacher so I like the idea of racing a 70.3 in late July / early August so that I can plan that race around my summer break. Either way, I want to have a good effort without sacrificing performance for the two IM's. What's your advice?
Quote Reply
Re: 70.3 timing for a two IM season [SwiftRunner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Some time around early or mid May would be best. After CDA, you're going to be trashed for 4 weeks. Then you'll need some more time to build back up and taper back down for Wisconsin, so doing a half in between is probably not such a great idea. Doable? Sure, but if you really wanted to, you could do a 70.3 every weekend.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You have tons of time in between IM races and the middle would probably be best. You may recover a bit faster than you think after CDA and could use the half distance race to be a motivator to get to Wisconsin. Having two IM's so far apart, you might find it hard to ramp back up for the second.
I work full time in the classroom as well, had a four IM season, and raced the 70.3 distance to break up training during our summer break. A 70.3 can really be used as a fun way to get in a longer training day.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Training/Racing Log - http://www.earthdaykid.com/blog --- Old Training/Racing Log - http://colinlaughery.blogspot.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In 2013, I did this:

TTT - 5/17ish
IMCDA - 6/23
Olympic - 7/13
Half - 7/20
Olympic - 8/10
Half - 8/18
IMWI - 9/8