Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
2014 Kona Race Report M35 - 39 REALLY LONG
Quote | Reply
GENERAL

I am a Kona Rookie. I have done 3 IMs, all on the less challenging IMFL course (I can’t call a 140.6 race “easy,” but Florida is a fast course and Kona is not). I qualified for Kona by having the absolute best race I possibly could have had at IMFL 2013 and then being as lucky as possible. I needed to pass a guy at mile 24 and then get 2 roll downs just to make it on a 9:23 in M35 – 39. I write that to point out that I was probably one of the slowest AG qualifiers in M35 – 39.

I had a tremendous training block for Kona, I put in an excess of 200 miles per month running for July, August, and September, and over 40 hours per month on the bike in each of them as well. I hit CTL records for running and riding and set an FTP record on a 40k TT in September, earlier in the year I PR’d the 5k and the 1 mile. I trained in the New Orleans heat and humidity all summer long. I reached Kona at the lowest weight that I have ever raced long course (136 pounds on race morning). I was as prepared as I could be. The only stone that I left unturned was hill running. I just couldn’t work much of that in given my location and other restrictions.

RACE WEEK

We arrived at Kona over a week in advance. I wanted to have some family time to acclimate to the Island with the Ironwife and the Ironbaby. We had some typical and some atypical travel tribulations, but after a few days, everything was settled and we were enjoying the atmosphere. I did the practice swim off the pier in a predictable 1:06 (which is right where I thought I would race) and I ran the energy lab in the heat of the day and rode the first and last 30 miles of the bike course several times during the week. I did the underwear run, the Path 10k and the pre-race banquet.