Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: 2.4 mi. swim - Lance Armstrong [Ultra-tri-guy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm not a pro, just an Ager, but that's good enough for me. I had my doubts, but you are right, if he can hang with those guys then he can hang with the pros at Kona on the swim, that is.
Quote Reply
Re: 2.4 mi. swim - Lance Armstrong [GMAN 19030] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
GMAN 19030 wrote:
drewmc3656 wrote:
Jordan can correct me if I'm misquoting him but he said something along the lines that any pro triathlete competing in the TdF would come in dead fuckin' last.

Probably true...if they were only doing their usual 300-400 km/wk (or whatever) of riding. But a few months of 500 weekly 'base' miles for a triathlete who is naturally strong on the bike would make a grand tourer out of him. Conversely, take an average grand tour rider and strip back his training frequency to 4-5 days/wk, dump over half the weekly volume and prevent any increase in intensity (owing to similar total training stress for triathletes), and he'll come in stone motherless too.
Quote Reply
Re: 2.4 mi. swim - Lance Armstrong [drewmc3656] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
drewmc3656 wrote:
Just curious, but why do so many people seem to think that Armstrong will be able to ride so much faster than someone like Lieto? And speaking of Lieto, we've all seen what happens to those who just kill it on the bike--they get hammered on the run. What's different about Armstrong doing it than Lieto?

Dope
Quote Reply
Re: 2.4 mi. swim - Lance Armstrong [runmdc] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I was there, and I can tell you that they did the entire course. They did not cut it short.

-------------------------------------------------------------- Quote directed to me..."You don't have to do an ironman to prove your life is worth living..."
Quote Reply
Re: 2.4 mi. swim - Lance Armstrong [Paulo Sousa] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Paulo Sousa wrote: