Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
10 years to competitive Ironman?
Quote | Reply
Hi, I'm new to Slowtwitch so if this is the wrong place to post or anything please let me know!
I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me come up with a basic long term training template, with a view to being competitive at 70.3 and ironman distance in 10 years.
I'm currently 20 years old, having been a competitive triathlete and swimmer up to the age of 16, and since maintaining a reasonable level of fitness playing various sports. I understand that the most important thing for now is to build my aerobic base, and am fully prepared to spend the next few years effectively "training to train for ironman."

I know this is an ambitious goal, but I think I have time on my side, and am not starting from scratch, just building upon a base that was established when I was younger.

I would be enormously grateful if anyone could give me some advice such as:
Year 1 do this, year 2 do that etc.

The ultimate dream is to qualify for Kona at the age of 30 - while perhaps unlikely it is a good source of motivation!

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me, or even just input as to whether you think it is possible or not, I really appreciate it!
In Reply To:
Quote Reply
Re: 10 years to competitive Ironman? [beansontoast94] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Find what you enjoy about triathlon and make sure you're doing that.

I would just start training and building up gradually. Start working on your weaker sport. Get some different races in year 1 and see what you enjoy. If you have a local race series, jump in those and have some fun.