Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Trying to get motivated
Quote | Reply
A couple years ago (yikes!) I started training for sprint tri's and found it derailed when I was basically t-boned by a car that decided to try and pass me on the left after I'd signaled and started to turn left!

Anyways, of the three disciplines swimming was my least favorite simply because I feel like a blob in the pool. I had gastric bypass 3.5 years ago and have some excess skin that is unflattering at best when clothed - god forbid in a bathing suit. So I guess I'm trying to find motivation to get back to training. I fell in love with tri's and training, I just loathe the thought of putting on a bathing suit and going to the pool.

Help! Any advice, motivation, etc. would be so appreciated.

- Kelly
Quote Reply
Re: Trying to get motivated [zen4me] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Quote:
I fell in love with tri's and training

The best piece of advice I can give you (and this goes with all things in life) is NEVER EVER let anything rob you of what you love. Life is too short and it's not worth it. Fight your feelings of inadeqacy (push negative thoughts out of your head each time they show up so they don't find a home there), put a suit on and get your butt in the pool.

....not a touchy feel-ee response....but hopefully it motivates you and makes you think.

best of luck

Quote | Reply
Just do it. You will see so many people, fit and not fit alike, in bathing suits in the pool.

I was a personal trainer for a number of years, and the same advice appiles to finding a pool as finding a gym- find one that suits you. Maybe find one that isn't so crowded, or just one that has the right 'feel' to it. If there are several pools in your area, try a bunch out before settling on one.