Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Motobecane Gigi Pro & bikesdirect.com
Quote | Reply
This is me: New road rider, one time sprint triathlete, 3 more to go this season, BOP/MOP looking for a road bike for 1K or less (have hybrid).

Anyone ever purchase from BikesDirect.com? I know I can't ride it before I buy but I can return it for full refund (less my return shipping). I can get this 09 Motobecane Gigi Pro made with far superior components for the same price I can get a Trek 1.2 or Specialized Dolce...

http://www.bikesdirect.com/...obecane/gigi_pro.htm

I know everyone talks about fit but there aren't that many options for decent road bikes in my price range(1K), it seems to be either Trek, Specialized or Giant, and the fit doesn't feel that dramatically different on each. I guess maybe because I'm fairly new to road riding? But in anycase is there really a big risk ordering online at this level as long as I am following their fit recommendations? My boyfriend is great with bikes and can't true a wheel, bleed breaks etc. so he can put it together (just attaching handle bars, tires and seat to frame)

And, can't I take it to a LBS to have the bike specially fitted to me once I get it or will the only work on brand their shop sells?
Quote Reply
Re: Motobecane Gigi Pro & bikesdirect.com [Playwithzoe] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
When we talk about "fit", we're really talking about frame size. If you know your frame size (measured in cm) then you should be OK with an online purchase. There is quite a bit of adjustability with stems, seat post height and fore/aft saddle adjustment to make it fit to suit you.

Any LBS will happily do a bike fit for you for their fee, but they might quietly be a bit ticked that you didn't purchase from them had you been talking to them previously about their offerings.

"My boyfriend is great with bikes"