Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
I feel trapped and don't know what to do--
Quote | Reply
I am really in a quandary about what to do in my life right now.

I am divorced and share custody of my young children w/ an ex that lives in our same town. I am a professional (professional partnership)and my current business is suffering financially. Things will be better, but in the end I would move if I could--and could do MUCH BETTER financially in another town. But if I leave, I would have to leave my children. There is no way my ex would pick up and move with me--and there is no way I could get full custody of our kids. The youngest is ten years away from finishing high school.

I feel stuck. trapped.

I don't see a way to achieve full happiness in my professional situation without moving(my business is very niche and no way to go on my own in this town)---and I can't move for 10yrs because I won't leave my children.

Any ideas?
Josh
Quote Reply
Re: I feel trapped and don't know what to do-- [joshramsey] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I think this is a common situation - maybe not the reasons, but the not being able to move post divorce - but married or not, your kids need to come first and yes that means sacrifice -

is there any way to expand professionally virtually and with travel? you could modify the custody to be every other week (common) so that you have a whole week to travel....

---

cat
Sponsored by Suntheanine, Lycored and Celadrin
http://www.lycored.com/web/content/library.asp http://suntheanine.com/Research.cfm http://celadrin.com/pages/studies.php
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Josh,

An interesting quandry. You recognize that you would be more successful by moving away but you say you can't do it for 10 years. Let me ask you a question.