Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Birthin' Babies and riding Bikes
Quote | Reply
I'm a lady, but have never given birth. I'm also a bike fitter by trade, and have had only a handful of interactions with Ladies Who Have Given Natural Birth (LGNB's) who continue to ride. Some, but not all, compete on the road or in triathlon. A notable few have had tremendous problems with saddle discomfort, some I have 'solved' the problem, but I have one now who is challenging me (in a good way!).

I'm starting this thread to survey you LGNB's with these questions:
1. did you experience pelvic girdle pain during or after your pregnancy?
2. did you experience difficulty walking or a permanent change in gait afterwards?
3. were you no longer comfortable on a saddle what was comfortable pre-childbirth?
4. have you been, or are you now prone too, hamstring or adductor strains?

Would love to hear any input from a OB-GYN male or female on this subject as well. Thanks!

Anne Barnes
ABBikefit, Ltd
FIST/SICI/FIST DOWN DEEP
X/Y Coordinator
abbikefit@gmail.com
Quote Reply
Re: Birthin' Babies and riding Bikes [ABarnes] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
1) I have weird pelvic pain sometimes - often after I run. I have no idea what it is exactly - but it wasn't an issue before giving birth.
2) No
3) My saddles are still comfortable - although I find some "weirdness" (not pain - but uncomfortable) on the right side. It's like my sit bone isn't on the right place on the saddle or something. It bothers me more on my mountain bike than my cross bike, and both bikes were very comfortable pre-pregnancy.
4) No, and no
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
1. Yes, most of the time I would just describe it as discomfort, but there was definitely some pain.
2. No.
3. I don't have the experience to answer this. All of my "serious" riding started post-kids.
4. No.