Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Looking for advice
Quote | Reply
Hi,

I'm looking for ideas on what to do. Running low on ideas and motivation.

I graduated in May '08 with a BS in Mech Engineering (minor in env science), took the summer off racing, climbing, hiking, etc. Had some initial results getting interviews, however that has declined steadily over time. Looking to get into the green building design/HVAC field, however I don't currently have applicable experience and entry level jobs have been scarce. I've been working on teaching myself HVAC as it wasn't a part of my BSME program, but its hard to motivate myself without a definitive objective.

More recently (august) I moved out of boston and back to NJ to live with my parents for a bit. I've since been going insane, due to lack of climbing, skiing and a social life. Definitely need to do something and the longer it goes on the harder it is to do anything. Became somewhat of a confidence sapping cycle.

In any case, would love to hear ideas for getting my foot in the door. Or any other general advice.

Thanks, and sorry for the rambling nature of the post.

~Alex Wilson

---------------------------------------------------------
All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. ~Gandalf
Quote Reply
Re: Looking for advice [Alaric83] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Well, I'll start this off as I know nothing about the HVAC industry.

This is what I recommend:
1. There must be some local HVAC association where you can network.

2. Just drop by some local HVAC companies and ask if there are any openings. And if there are not, ask if you can do a free internship with them. Don't call them, make a personal visit and talk to the manager or supervisor or owner.

3.Make sure you have some business cards. Since you don't have a job, just write something like:
John Doe
Mechanical Enginnering
Parent's address or PO box (they are cheap, like $5 a month)